Perspective : Presidential Election, 2022 | 22 June, 2022

Sansad TV

In this episode of the Perspective Prog. based on ‘Presidential Election 2022’. Decks were cleared for a Presidential election on Tuesday with the ruling BJP naming Jharkhand former Governor Droupadi Murmu, from Odisha, and the Opposition choosing former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha. Both sides announced the names after hectic discussions – the first to hit the block was the Opposition in the afternoon announcing the name of 84-year-old Sinha while 64-year-old Murmu’s name was cleared after a meeting of BJP’s Parliamentary Board, which was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi among others. The President is elected by an electoral college consisting of MPs of both Houses of Parliament and MLAs of the states Delhi and Puducherry. Nominated members of Rajya Sabha, Lok Sabha and the Assemblies, and members of state Legislative Councils, are not part of the Electoral College. The President of the Republic of India is the head of the Indian state, and commander in chief of all the Indian Armed Forces. And to discuss varoious aspects of presidential election of 2022

Anchor:- Kriti Mishra

Producer:- Sagheer Ahmad

1. Sujeet Kumar, Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha, BJD

2. KTS Tulsi, Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha, Congress

3. Shekhar Iyer, Senior Journalist

4. Prakash Javadekar, Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha, BJP


Follow us on: